Basic Movements for Daily Life

Why Do I Train?

Someone asked a while back about why I train.  I dunno.  I don’t really have an answer for that.  I suppose, in a nutshell, the standard stuff; live well, be able to move around, not be a burden on the already over burdened health care system.

What A Bowl Of Ice Cream Looks Like the Next Day

Probably not the answer this person was looking for, I think they wanted to hear something like some sort of competition.  That has crossed my mind (not the one with the skimpy shorts, though, a kettlebell competition), but injuries and such have plagued me that last while.

At this point I don’t really have an end to the means.  I have a few ideas in mind, but nothing written in stone. More on those another time when there is something a bit more concrete.

I guess why I train, as I sit in 30 degree weather, is to be able to eat ice cream.  Sounds weird, but lets say a bowl of ice cream with some goodies on top is 400 calories.  I dunno, might be more, might be less, but whatever.  Knocking out a kettlebell workout that burns about that much lets me get away with it.  So, for the most part, I can enjoy that bowl of ice cream virtually guilt free.  Now, if I had some sort of competition or goal in mind, it might a different story.

But, for where I am in my life right now, I train to eat ice cream.

3 responses

  1. kimberube

    Everybody has their reasons…. thanks for the initiation. I can already feel it in my glutes.

    July 10, 2012 at 10:10 pm

  2. kimberube

    I’m doing it because (at 42) statistically, I will decline in muscle mass and flexibility and bone density and gain weight in my middle with menopause, and I want to hike the West Coast Trails someday… even if I’m 60.

    July 10, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    • And with any luck, this will help! It was a pleasure to meet and work with you today. You did very well.

      July 10, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Leave a comment